Australia National Holidays

Australians enjoy several public holidays each year. Most businesses close on these days.

When public holidays fall on a weekend (excepting Easter), an additional holiday is granted on the following weekday. Retail stores open from 10 am to 4 pm on most public holidays, except Anzac Day when they open from 1 pm to 4 pm and New Years Day, Good Friday, Easter Sunday, Christmas Day and Boxing Day when they are closed.

New Years Day – January 1

Australia Day – January 26

Easter (Good Friday, Easter Saturday, Easter Sunday, Easter Monday) – March/April

Labor Day – first Monday in March (Western Australia only)

Labor Day – second Monday in March (Victoria and Tasmania only)

Anzac Day – April 25

Labor Day – first Monday in May (Queensland and Northern Territory only)

Queen’s Birthday holiday – second Monday in June (all states except Western Australia)

Labor Day – first Monday in October (New South Wales, Australian Capital Territory, and South Australia only)

Queen’s Birthday holiday – first Monday in October (Western Australia only)

Christmas Day – December 25

Boxing Day – December 26

Australia Travel Preparation >>>